Current Events · Inspiration · Social Media

Light The Way

This past weekend I had the opportunity to attend the 29th annual Celebration of Service and Survival hosted by the Center for Women and Families. But not only did I get to attend, I helped run social media for the night as a part of my internship! And let me tell you, this was probably one of the most exciting things I’ve ever done leading up to my eventual career!

The  Celebration of Service and Survival is a fundraiser that honors five Women of Distinction who have gone above and beyond in advocating peace for women and for bringing healing to those harmed by abuse. The event also honors one person for the Joan E. Thomas Lifetime Achievement Award for achievements made in the community. This year, the five women recognized were Sharon Currens, Laura Douglas, Joni Jenkins, Eileen Recktenwald, and Sheila Schuster. The recipient of the achievement award was Christopher 2x.

The theme this year was “Light The Way” and promoted using your voice to raise awareness and to guide those who have been abused. In addition to the Women of Distinction and the Joan E. Thomas Achievement winner, a survivor of sexual abuse also shared her journey with us. To me, this was the most moving part of the evening. Her story was a beautiful one of hope and healing that I believe touched everyone in the room.

The emcee for the night was Dawne Gee, a media anchor for a local news station, WAVE3. I had the honor of meeting her as well!

Throughout the evening my job was to do live tweeting of the event and to write various updates on Facebook. For avid social media enthusiasts this may not seem like a hard task. But don’t be fooled. It was harder than it sounds. Using Hootsuite I tried to use pictures taken on my phone along with some live quotes that were said throughout the night. All in all, I think I did a fairly good job! To check out what I did, follow The Center for Women on Facebook here and on Twitter here!

The evening was truly amazing and I gained so much real life experience! The night made me realize how blessed I am and how perfect this field of work will hopefully be for me one day. I know without a doubt that I am in the right place, studying the right thing. And man, that is a good feeling.

Always, Autumn

IMG_8825

IMG_8831.jpg
Patty Barron, a survivor, sharing her story. 
IMG_8834
Dawne Gee and I!

IMG_8792

Leave a Reply

